Book 13 – The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton

This historical novel set in 17th century Amsterdam, begins with 18-year-old Nella betrothed to a man older than her and sent of to her new home and family life, away from what she has known. All is not as it seems within the walls of the Miniaturistmansion she now shares with her husband and his spinster sister but she tries her best to fit in and assert her place there. A story of intrigue revolves around her and the miniature house given to her that appears to tell her what is happening in her life before she even knows herself.

I was really looking forward to reading this debut novel. It’s cover alone is enough to entice the reader in to see what it’s all about. The setting and imagery are good throughout but I wanted to know more about the creator of the house and his relationship with the young bride. I hope there is a sequel as I feel let down that not all was revealed. 2.5/5

I loved the descriptions of  Amsterdam in Nella’s time but having said that I can’t find another positive thing to say about this book. Perhaps I blinked at the wrong moment but I have absolutely no idea what the point of it all was. The characters were unbelievable and the storyline was shambolic. I thoroughly disliked it. 1.5/5

TOTAL SCORE: 29.5/45

https://wordery.com/the-miniaturist-jessie-burton-9781447250937

About Great Big Jar

Life is like a box of chocolates - well, it would be but I ate them all! I am a writer of children's stories and rhymes. I am currently testing the waters with two new stories for 8+ and 11+ readers - a new exciting genre to sink my teeth into. Drop by and say hello www.greatbigjar.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book 13 – The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton

  1. Annie says:

    I enjoyed the book, the sense of place and its characters but felt that the relationship between the bride and her groom was not fully developed in the story and that they did not seem to have much interaction within the novel. I was hoping to see more of the internal working of their relationship but this never came to fruition. Rating: 3/5

    Like

Leave a Reply

