Book 16 – The Flander’s Panel by Arturo Perez Reverte

A game of chess with murder in tow. This book takes you on a journey through the bold Flandersmoves made by the players of an ancient game long since finished. A rare painting reveals an inscription the restorer cannot ignore resulting in a fantastic story of intrigue and murder. Are the figures in the painting aware of the tragedy that is about to unfold?

With a nod to The Name of the Rose and the like, I was looking forward to reading this but it didn’t live up to my expectations. I love to play chess and thought the premise itself was enough for me to read it but it lacked gumption and I knew the ‘who dunnit’ long before I should have. 3/5

TOTAL SCORE: 26.5/45

https://wordery.com/the-flanders-panel-arturo-perez-reverte-9780099453956

About Great Big Jar

Life is like a box of chocolates - well, it would be but I ate them all! I am a writer of children's stories and rhymes. I am currently testing the waters with two new stories for 8+ and 11+ readers - a new exciting genre to sink my teeth into. Drop by and say hello www.greatbigjar.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

