Book 17 – H is for Hawk by Helen MacDonald

Falconry is not the most discussed subject on most people’s lips but this book certainly will give you everything you need if you ever feel the need to try it out. HawkHelen MacDonald’s award winning book is a story of becoming one with nature and the animals within to help get her through the grief she is feeling from the loss of her father. A factual book about caring for the majestic creatures, it also concentrates on the inner-turmoil felt when you lose someone you love.

This book had the book worms at either end of the scoring scale. Never before has a book had such an impact on us. We discussed it in great length along with her character compared to the world we now live in. It was agreed her life was certainly different to anything we had come across before. A fantastic book for any book group, it will get the conversation going and for some, will prove a very worthwhile read. Should be re-names M is for Marmite – you’ll either love it or hate it.

I am not adverse to reading factual books, especially on a subject I know nothing about. How else are we going to learn if we don’t branch out and see what else is out there? I had heard so much about this book, I was hoping I would agree with its award. Sadly, I don’t. I found it all a bit much. Her middle-class, selfish desires grated on me from the start and I found it hard to warm to her. There are a few factual points I will take from this book but I found I could not relate to it at all. 2/5 

TOTAL SCORE: 25.5/50

https://wordery.com/h-is-for-hawk-helen-macdonald-9780099575450

About Great Big Jar

Life is like a box of chocolates - well, it would be but I ate them all! I am a writer of children's stories and rhymes. I am currently testing the waters with two new stories for 8+ and 11+ readers - a new exciting genre to sink my teeth into. Drop by and say hello www.greatbigjar.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

