Book 22 – The Green Road by Anne Enright

Irish mothers have been well known to run tight ships, have exemplary behaviour from greenroadtheir off-spring at all times and to bestow their beliefs onto generations of their family until their last breath. Anne Enright manages to do just that as she takes you through the lives of one such family and the matriarch that sits at the helm.

This book certainly divided our book group as we came from many angles when dissecting the storyline. We all agreed that the mum, Rosaleen was a remarkable woman, one not to be crossed, which I’m sure has resonated with us all.

I thought this book was very descriptive – especially the Christmas scene and the effort certain family members go to for that one day. It was evident that between the siblings only some felt they had to help. I did laugh at quite a lot of scenes, mainly because they were funny and lightened the mood of the otherwise slightly depressing family story but also because I could relate to the characters from my own life and those around me.  As ever, they rally round together and prove that family is the best and we all must look out for each other regardless of our circumstances. In my opinion a thoroughly enjoyable book. I will be reading more of her novels. Excellent. 5/5

TOTAL SCORE: 22/30

https://wordery.com/the-green-road-anne-enright-9780099539797

About Great Big Jar

Life is like a box of chocolates - well, it would be but I ate them all! I am a writer of children's stories and rhymes. I am currently testing the waters with two new stories for 8+ and 11+ readers - a new exciting genre to sink my teeth into. Drop by and say hello www.greatbigjar.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

