Book 24: The Trouble With Goats and Sheep by Joanna Cannon

goatsWhen a woman unexpectedly disappears, the whole street is in shock.  Curtains are twitching, washing lines are overwhelmed with gossip and men waft their hankies in the 1976 heatwave without anything to say on the matter. Two girls respond by trying to find God. According to Matthew – you are a sheep or a goat, as they try to find God, we also discover that all is not as it seems, and secrets have a way of getting out.

After all the media attention and hype surrounding this fascinating story, I was left slightly disappointed. I didn’t feel the ending did the book justice and I was left frustrated with the lack of finality.  I could relate to many of the characters in the book and I think we all live in a street very much like this. I so wanted it to be more, but it just didn’t fit the bill for me. 3/5

I’m afraid I did not enjoy Goats and Sheep and struggled to finish it. 2/5

 

About Great Big Jar

Life is like a box of chocolates - well, it would be but I ate them all! I am a writer of children's stories and rhymes. I am currently testing the waters with two new stories for 8+ and 11+ readers - a new exciting genre to sink my teeth into. Drop by and say hello www.greatbigjar.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

